The OFFICIALunOFFICIAL English Bulldog Mascot

Tell Me More About My Eye…

In Thats' Health, Thats' Life on August 14, 2009 at 2:45 PM

That's me in the corner (top left)

I love the dog park. I wrote a song about it. Like to hear it? I’d love to sing it for you. And the off-leash dog beach. I’m small, yeah, but I like to think I can keep up with the big boys, you know? Unfortunately, this one time the big boys bested me. I got trampled and my face was ground deep into the beach sand.

I was a trooper, though. I ain’ no punk. My mom flushed my eye and then we both just expected my usual resilience to kick in and do the rest. A month later, my face was all itchy and scratchy all the time. Then it got so I really couldn’t open the eye and I was winking and squinting and rubbing and sticky stuff started running out the corner of my eye all the time.

I got an indolent corneal ulcer.

It’s been three weeks now (since July 28) and when the meds and the non-invasive treatments failed, I had to have my third eyelid sutured across the defect in a procedure called tarsorrhapy.

I usually look like this:   Aaawwww…

But today I look like this:  Aaawwwww…

Even with my protective “doggles” strapped on,  LL Cool J ain’ got nothin’ on me.

Oh yeah.  This is how I roll..!

I got another two weeks to wear “the cone of shame.” In the meantime, my mom is waiting to exhale. Wish me luck that all of this effort will be a success, my eye will heal and  I can get back to the business of just being a handsome dog.

Goodwill energies I direct
Toward each and every one of you
Each and every day.

People let me tell you ‘bout my best friend

He’s a warm-hearted person who’ll love me to the end

People let me tell you ‘bout my best friend

He’s a one boy cuddly toy my up my down my pride and joy

People let me tell you now he’s so much fun

Whether we’re talking man to man

Or whether we’re talking son to son

Cause he’s my best friend

Cause he’s my best friend now

The theme to The Courtship of Eddie’s Father | 1969-1972 | Harry Nilssen

“And there came to be evening and there came to be morning.” (Gen 1:4)

That’s life today.

'Nite...

Now smile.

Leave a Reply

