The OFFICIALunOFFICIAL English Bulldog Mascot

C’mon People Now

In Active Faith, English bulldogs on September 11, 2009 at 1:36 AM

When I was young, I pooped on the berber in Her bedroom.  She cleaned up the mess. I’m sure that wasn’t pleasant, but She forgave me. A couple of days ago, I peed on one of Her favorite sandals.  She whined about that for awhile but She forgave me. Today I chewed off one of the leather straps on Her Louis Vuitton bag.

Did I do That?

Did I do That?

No matter what I do, She never gets mad at me.  She always, always, ALWAYS forgives me.  99.99% of all the time she forgives me.

“If your brother commits a sin give him a rebuke, and if he repents forgive him. Even if he sins seven times a day against you and he comes back to you seven times, saying, ‘I repent,’ you must forgive him.” Luke 17:3, 4

Most times I don’t even have to ask for it. But all the time I always do.  She smiles and grabs  and pulls up the loose skin around my face and kisses me full on the lips. I may get a correction but after that it’s over.  She never holds it against me or tells three friends, or throws it back up in my face later in a fit of rage.

Love is long-suffering and kind. Love is not jealous, it does not brag, does not get puffed up, does not behave indecently, does not look for its own interests, does not become provoked. It does not keep account of the injury. It does not rejoice over unrighteousness, but rejoices with the truth. It bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never fails.”

1 Corinthians 13:4-8

Sighhhhhh.  I love Her.

barfYou think she likes it when she has to clean up the chunks I hurl on the carpet, or when I take my sweet time coming when she calls?  Of course not.  Love is long suffering.  It bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

Michael Vick is a poor country boy from Newport News, Virginia. Poor young men who attend college on football scholarships tend not to be the sharpest knives in the drawer, nor are they the most articulate. You can take Michael Vick out of the country but you can’t take the country out of Michael Vick. He dropped out of college to pursue a lucrative career with the NFL. Michael Vick is no intellectual powerhouse.  That 60 Minutes interview proved that and it was excruciatingly difficult to watch.  Ugh!

He didn’t murder his pregnant girlfriend, cheat on his wife, shoot himself in the leg or smuggle illegal drugs in or out of the country. No. What he did do was own and operate Bad Newz Kennels on his property where he oversaw and participated in the egregious abuse and slaughter of pitbulls bred specificially  for fighting. Michael was implicated in everything from betting on matches to approving the disposal of dogs that lost. He was caught, exposed, tried, convicted and sentenced to 23 months in federal prison. He was released after serving 19 months.

He’s served his time. He’s been publically contrite. He’s pledged to work with animal rights groups and to be a spokesperson for how wrong dog fighting is and how abusing animals is wrong.  He’s apologized and he’s asked for the public’s forgiveness.

“If your brother commits a sin give him a rebuke, and if he repents forgive him. Even if he sins seven times a day against you and he comes back to you seven times, saying, ‘I repent,’ you must forgive him.” Luke 17:3, 4

All this hate and vitriol directed at Michael Vick doesn’t look anything like what I see going on around here.  I see how much people love us.  I see how they rescue us from shelters, take us in if we’re strays, pay for out surgeries if we’re found injured.  I see how they spend billions on us for clothes, for food; for kennels, daycare and spas; on air-conditioned houses and dog-friendly hotels. The vast majority of us are the most well taken cared of creatures on the planet, second only to one other significant Person in their lives–  maybe .

So how come there’s all this hatin’ on Michael Vick?  Being a football player in the NFL may not be his right but it is what he does for a living.  What’s he gonna do..?  Pilot an airplane?  It is neither a right nor a privilege to work.  It’s a responsibility. Everybody has to work! There can be no “pursuit of happiness” (which is a Right– a right guaranteed by the Constitution of the United States by the way) unless you are able to earn an income. We all know the  familiar paradigm:  Get a job, save money, feel secure, take a wife, raise a family, die.  Ding, ding, ding..! You have having successfully fulfilled your God-given imperative to go forth and multiply.

I’m a dog.  I can tell you for a FACT:  There are no dogs out there hatin’ on Michael Vick.  We have all moved on–  toward the dinner bowl.

C’mon, people now.  Stop wastin’ that energy hatin’ Michael Vick.  You need all that energy and more working for our welfare and  pet food, and vet bills, and Christmas and Halloween outfits, and obedience school training, and leashes and collars and dog bowls and water dispensers and dog beds and…

C’mon people now,
Smile on your brother
Ev’rybody get together
Try and love one another right now

Goodwill Energies I direct your way
Toward each and every one of you
Each and every day!

“And there came to be evening and there came to be morning”

Make it work!

That’s Life today

Leave a Reply

