The OFFICIALunOFFICIAL English Bulldog Mascot

Went To The Doctor. Guess What He Told Me?

In Animals and Pets, English bulldogs, Music, Thats' Health, Thats' Life on October 5, 2009 at 8:00 PM

Monday, Sept 28Sometimes in our lives we all have pain
We all have sorrow
But if we are wise
We know that there’s always tomorrow

Today I found out I may have conjunctivitis. Conjunctivitis is an inflammation of the conjunctiva. In English bulldogs conjunctivitis may be caused by an eye irritation, infection, ectropion or allergy. Some symptoms are red eyes, eye goop, scratching of eyes and tearing.

It’s not a firm diagnosis.  I went to the doctor last Monday because She noticed a lump on the lower lid in the corner of my eye and had a heart spike.  She immediately thought it might be the beginnings of cherry eye. Cherry eye?  What’s cherry eye, you ask?

Cherry Eye is one of the most common eye problems in the English Bulldog. The tear gland located on the inside corner of the third eyelid pops up.  It looks like a big, red cherry growth on the inside corner of the eye. It’s more unattractive than painful or uncomfortable, but left untreated the gland can become inflamed and infected.

The onset of Cherry Eye is sudden. It’s not something that sort of happens gradually over time in most cases. One day your look is INclear eye And the next day it’s OUT:cherry eye boing!

Happily,  I do not have cherry eye.  Doctor said it was a sty and he popped it–  with his big ole thumb!  Sent her home with a tube of eye ointment and told Her to bring me back next week.

That was last week.

Today, Doctor increased the ointment dosage from twice daily to three times daily and suggested I may have to have another surgical procedure if the ointment doesn’t clear things up over this week.

Paul Mitchell:  Not just for People anymore.

Paul Mitchell: Not just for People anymore.

I have been sleeping a lot lately, but I haven’t been rubbing my face or pawing my eye. My appetite seems kicked up a notch as well.  I gained two pounds this summer!

The hot spot under my screw tail seems to be clearing up. I lost a lot of hair there, but the good news is my hinny doesn’t itch anymore. What a relief! No more snapping at the air. I can stop dragging my butt around (Stevie Nicks,  Tom Petty–  you have my permission to use my line ).

The thick, goopy eye boogers are back (in the affected eye) and so is the gummy tearing. So She’s a skosh upset. And preoccupied. She thinks I can’t feel Her, but always I do.

Lean on me, when you’re not strong
And I’ll be your friend
I’ll help you carry on

Boy!  What a summer, huh?

I only hope this doesn’t prevent me from becoming a Delta Society certified animal-assisted activity dog. I really enjoy it when kids read books to me and when I get to visit schools.  It’s fun.  I’ll tell more about that next time.

Goodwill Energies I direct
Toward each and every one of you
Each and every day!

“And there came to be evening and there came to be morning”

Ciao!
That’s Life today. [clearspring_widget title=”Grooveshark Widget: Single Song” wid=”48f3f305ad1283e4″ pid=”4aca9fe2b5ffb8d7″ width=”400″ height=”300″ domain=”widgets.clearspring.com”]
If there is a load you have to bear
That you can’t carry
I’m right up the road
I’ll share your load
If you just call me

Leave a Reply

