The OFFICIALunOFFICIAL English Bulldog Mascot

In Which I Attend My First Back to School Night!

In Children's Literacy, K-12 Education, Pet Ambassador, ThatOne WORD on October 7, 2010 at 2:08 AM


As any Parent of a school aged young Person will tell you, the first weeks of school are mostly filled with school events. The calendars for TERI Inc.’s two schools are no exception. I was invited to attend Back to School Night at The Learning Academy. Here’s Back to School Night as reported from this bulldog’s perspective– 7″ from the ground.

As Champion for Children’s Literacy, self-appointed Goodwill Agent and chief Cheerwoofer, I take very seriously my responsibility to bring in da butt wriggles and turn on the smiles!

Fur my inexhaustible efforts and incomparable contribution to the esprit de corps at The Learning Academy, I got to watch People eat sandwiches. I waddled up to People and allowed them to pet me, all the while ever so subtly turning my tight bum toward them, encouraging them to scratch it. (Do ya think anyone ever notices?) Ahhh… hinny scratches. Soooo nice.

I get lots of head rubs and smooches, too. She always jokes: I’m like Jesus Christ– Will work fur praise.

The Parents get to hear short speeches, educate and encourage one another, meet their childrens’ teachers, see their childrens’ classrooms and review their childrens’ work.

I talked to interested attendees about ThatOne | WORD, reading, writing, listening, thinking and speaking, and how TOW, with appropriate modifications, accommodates non-verbal Learners and non-readers, too!

As an added bonus, we met Val and her CCI dog, Shirley. CCI stands for Canine Companions for Independence. And what’s more, Shirley’s a Pet Ambassador at Scripps Memorial Hospital just like I am! She’s the Monday PA and I’m the Tuesday PA. Goodwill Energies projected on me!

I had a fun time at Back to School Night at TERI’s Learning Academy. Does it show? BOL!

Goodwill Energies I project
Towards each and every one of you
Each and every day

“And there came to be morning and there came to be evening…”


That’s life… zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

  1. Too funny: “reported from this bulldog’s perspective– 7″ from the ground” and ‘Cheerwoofer, I take very seriously my responsibility to bring in da butt wriggles and turn on the smiles”!

    You sure do bring on the smiles.

    NOW…” (Do ya think anyone ever notices?) “, I ALWAYS notice a pooch trying to get in on the toosh scratches. I always oblige!

Leave a Reply

