The OFFICIALunOFFICIAL English Bulldog Mascot

♫My Kind Of Town, Thanksgiving Is

In Children's Literacy, History, K-12 Education on November 25, 2010 at 6:57 PM

You know, Umma dog. But I lub Abraham Lincoln! Abraham Lincoln, the Nation’s 16th President, emancipated the slaves. He was Commander-in-Chief during the Civil War, he prevented the Nation from splitting in two and was the first President to ever use the term “reconstruction” when he initiated sweeping legislation to get a philosophically divided and psychologically fractured country back on its feet again.

But because umma bulldog and I like turkey, I think of President Lincoln every Thanksgiving Day because on October 3, 1863, he proclaimed November 26 national Thanksgiving Day to be observed every year on the fourth Thursday of November.

If Abraham Lincoln is the Father of Thanksgiving Day in America, then Sarah Josepha Hale is its Mother.

Sarah Josepha Hale began to agitate for a national day of thanksgiving in 1827 by printing articles in Ladies Magazine and Godey’s Lady’s Book, magazines where she served as Editor. She also published stories and recipes and wrote scores of letters to governors, senators, and presidents. After 36 years of  tireless crusading, she won her battle and in 1863, Thanksgiving Day became an established holiday!

Thanksgiving is a time when many families come together to renew family ties, reconcile long standing  feuds or injuries and enumerate publicly or privately in their hearts things they are most thankbull fur. Which got me to thinkin’…

A Very Partial List of Things I’m Thankbull Fur by ThatOne | EBD

  • I am thankbull fur Her.
  • I am thankbull I’m healthy, happy, productive and loved.
  • I’m thankbull fur my furriends the majority of whom I have never seen and, in all probability, may never meet.  The anipals and furriends who project Goodwill Energies upon me with their bulltwit in my Twitter timeline.  They make me laugh and keep me curious and fur that I am enormously grateful.
  • I’m thankbull fur my job as Bulldog-In-Chief at ThatOneWorks, the company that coordinates my work as an Animal Assisted Activity/Therapy (TripleA) dog. I have been evaluated and and my TripleA status is certified by TripleAWorks.
  • I’m thankbull fur the joy I experience from my work as a Pet Ambassador and TBI Therapy dog in a hospital setting.
  • I’m thankbull fur the joy I experience from my work as Mascot and Pet Ambassador at a skilled nursing and assisted living facility.
  • I’m thankbull fur the People that I meet each day!
  • I’m thankbull fur my non-profit ThatOne | WORD and for the WORD readers I work with every week for the past two school terms.
  • I am thankbull fur the #bullDogNATION! because it’s fun!  It’s conversation. And I lub to talk!
  • I am enormously thankbull fur bacon, cheese and peanut butter.
  • But most of all, I am so thankbull there are sooo many People in the world who love and support and demonstrate their affections for each other just as much, if not more, than they do even their animals!

Some People call it love. I like to call it

Goodwill Energy I project
Upon Each and Every One of you
On *this* Thanksgiving Day

“And there came to be evening and there came to be morning…”
That’s life today!
Leave a Reply

