The OFFICIALunOFFICIAL English Bulldog Mascot

When Bad Breath Happens To Good Dogs

In Books, Children's Literacy, K-12 Education, ThatOne WORD on January 20, 2011 at 1:00 PM

Meet Michael. He’s a WORD reader at The Learning Academy.  Michael is a strong, expressive reader with great enunciation and a particular fondness for funny picture books. That’s one reason I lub hearing Michael read aloud to me each week.

A perfect example, is a perfectly delightful and amusing picture book entitled Dog Breath: The Horrible Trouble with Hally Tosis, By Dav Pilkey.  Here’s how Dav Pilkey, the author, describes how he came up with the idea for the book:

“When I was growing up, I had a dog named “Halle” who had the worst breath in the world! My dad used to call her “Halle Tosis”, but I never understood his joke until I was much older. You see, “Halle Tosis” sounds a lot like the word “halitosis” which is a medical term for bad breath. So I borrowed my dad’s corny joke, added a few corny jokes of my own, and came up with a story about a very good dog with very bad breath!”

is even funnier when Michael reads it aloud! Too bad everybully can’t have Michael to read aloud to them. I guess that makes me one special, lucky bulldog. Thanks, Michael!

Goodwill Energies I direct
Toward each and every one of you
Each and every day!

“And there came to be evening and there came to be morning…”

That’s life today!

The Learning Academy—  Donations Welcomed.

Donate Now

Leave a Reply

