The OFFICIALunOFFICIAL English Bulldog Mascot

ThatOne’s America: The Grand Canyon

In Children's Literacy, K-12 Education, Road Trip, Thats' Life on February 21, 2011 at 1:06 PM

The Grand Canyon

Since hitting the road with Her on Valentine’s Day, I’ve enjoyed lot’s of interesting adventures. First off, She’s made things quite comfy fur me. I have three beds in the car, all on platforms so I can see out the window if I want, although most of the time when the car is in motion I choose to sleep.

I have a bed perch on the driver’s side, a bed perch on the passenger side and one in the back of the Suburban.

If the sun is over here, then I just go over there or I can go stretch out on my perch in the back (which is really just a Rubbermaid container with my Royal Canin Bulldog formula in it) and be alone if I want to. Or in the shade. Or next to the bag of ice or the food and the water.

At night I cuddle up and sleep with Her as usual. Sometimes we sleep in the car. Sometimes we spend the night in a motel or something. Any where we’re together is heaven to me.

We have met some really nice folk who love bulldogs and dogs in general, I suppose. We didn’t expect to but there they were at all places, Grand Canyon National Park in Arizona.

At a rest stop in Arizona we met a couple who was on their way back to Phoenix after visiting the park. Park passes are $25.00 if you’re driving in and you can exit and enter the park for seven days! This charming couple gave us their park pass and so off we went to Flagstaff by way of Williams.

The Grand Canyon is enormous! A lot of advance preparation is required to plan a trip there. For instance, the famous Grand Canyon Skywalk, which was the initial vision, is 200 miles north of Grand Canyon National Park, is a completely separate attraction and you may not bring pets. Grand Canyon National Park is pet friendly but it’s divided by the North Rim which is only open from Mid-May to Mid-October, and the South Rim, which is open 365 days/24 hours a day and is arguably the most popular visitor destination.

Wear comfortable shoes, bring food because those elevations will bring on the hunger, be sure to have have plenty of water and be prepared to walk— a lot!

Pets must be on leash at all times! It’s important also to be hyper alert and vigilant because other park visitors, many of them locals, will have their pets with them, too. You should not expect all pet owners to be responsible or their pets will be good citizens. You don’t get in your car expecting all drivers will be excellent, do you?


I had a great time at Grand Canyon National Park. It’s a pet friendly destination I highly recommend. Four Paws! Firmly on the ground. BOL!

Goodwill energies I direct
Toward each and every one of you
Each and every day

Click here to see more photos of my day in the park on my Facebook!

“And there came to be evening and there came to be morning…”

That’s life today!

  1. Love that last photo — Bully with a Bright Blue Sky! Penny also eats Royal Canin Bulldog formula…like it says, less flatulence. BOL! Lots of love!

  2. Awww…look at you…the King of the road trip!!! Your red jacket is very cute & I bet everybully loved it on you!! I love how are in heaven wherever you & she are!! :0) Safe travels bully friend!!

Leave a Reply

