The OFFICIALunOFFICIAL English Bulldog Mascot

Hyrax and Aye Aye’s And Wolves! Oh MY!

In Nature Programming, Television, ThatOne On TV, Thats' Life on April 3, 2011 at 8:08 AM

#bullDogNATION’s Sunday BULLY Pulpit

Hello! And to #bullDogNATION’s Sunday BULLY Pulpit where each week we gather together fur the Gospel and the Gossip according to Me! Or you. Come on in. You’re welcome to post your own opinion, pictures or comments on The Sunday Bully Pulpit.

I like TV. I watch it a lot. I don’t get to sit down in front of the TV very often, though, which is frustrating especially when I’m tryin’ to keep up with my favorite shows or episodic TV.

Fur instance, I lub . I appreciate the costumes, the colors and the attention to detail since it’s a period piece. I like the quiet, the subtle, smart humor, the interaction of the characters with each other and how the drama slowly unfolds.

I like the way the show looks; how it doesn’t strain credulity by  putting  characters in just so it is politically correct by 21st century standards. It’s a grrreat show!

I lub The Good Wife on CBS, mostly fur the same reasons. Except The Good Wife is set in modern times. The acting by the adults at least is flawless. I could watch Christine Baranski all by herself. Does anybully besides me remember when she used to play the prostitute with the heart of gold on All My Children waaaayyy back in the day?

The most glaring casting misstep are the children. They are awful, their dialogue so wooden and awkward their scenes quite literally stop the trajectory of the narrative right in its tracks. Happily they’re not in every episode, but when they are, it’s a bummer. Still, it’s another quiet drama. I like drama. And quiet.

That’s why I don’t watch Dancing With The Stars (ABC) or American Idol (FOX).  Too much noise fur me. And basically when you think about it, it’s like, so what? All the singers sound and mostly look alike and all the  dance contestants are adhering to a prescribed dance requisite. Many People lub these shows, though, and they are wildly popular!

I don’t watch PBS’s Nature, Animal Planet or National Geographic as much as I once did either. I guess I’m just an old fashioned purist when it comes to animal shows and wildlife programming.

There has been a shift in programming emphasis, no doubt to attract a wider, younger viewing audience who have less patience, perhaps, fur the hushed, soft spoken, melodic narration styles of Richard Kiley, George Page or David Attenborough (brother of the acclaimed film director and producer Richard Attenborough), who authoritatively discussed the nocturnal activity of the Aye-Aye (pronounced Eye Eye) fur example or  surprised you by revealing how the hyrax is genetically related to the elephant, or  who barely contained their own excitement describing the social hierarchy of wolves.

I notice an interesting similarity of behaviors watching this season’s offering of The Celebrity Apprentice (NBC). Dionne Warwick is such a disappointment. And did you know, btw, Whitney Houston and she are cousins?

During the tumultuous sixties and seventies when she was at the height of her popularity, the name and image of Dionne Warwick was synonymous with elegance, sophistication and dignified cool.

Whitney Houston’s public persona and image were promoted as sweet and wholesome, the opposite of rap and its vulgarities, even going so far as to point out her pawfect enunciation of lyrics. I was never a fan of either, sooo… The apples  really don’t fall very far from the tree. Just sayin.’

No, today’s nature/wildlife audience it seems prefers to follow the melodramatic, soap opera-ish, reality show like antics of meerkats (not that there’s anything wrong with that) that have cute names like Flower, Rocket Dog, Zorro and Maybelline and narrated by the thin voiced actor, Sean Aston.

I never much liked it when Jane Goodall assigned names to her chimpanzees either, so…

Whenever possible, I like to tweet with my BullTwitts while I’m watchin’ my favorite show on TV. It’s a lot of fun and an excellent way to practice the literacy skills of listening, reading, writing succinctly , and thinking quickly; clearly articulating a thought in 140 characters or less.

Maybe I’ll even get to bullTwit with you..? BOL!

So, until next week… This has been ThatOne here fur The Sunday BullyPulpit!


Goodwill Energies I project
On each and every one of you
Each and every day!

“And there came to be evening and there came to be morning…”

That’s life today!


  1. Beulah and I like The Good Wife too! There is so little good drama on anymore. And I am a big Hyrax fan. Don’t hear much about those guys. Hope you are still enjoying the Northeast!

Leave a Reply

